Wet vs Dry Tumbling

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gadsden

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm still new to the reloading world so I'd appreciate any help y'all could offer on the subject.

Since I began reloading (about a year ago) I have been dry tumbling my brass, can anyone tell me, besides nice shiny brass, if there is an advantage to switch over to wet tumbling and if so, what that is?

rockchalk06

ʞlɒʜƆʞɔoЯ
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm still new to the reloading world so I'd appreciate any help y'all could offer on the subject.

Since I began reloading (about a year ago) I have been dry tumbling my brass, can anyone tell me, besides nice shiny brass, if there is an advantage to switch over to wet tumbling and if so, what that is?
The wet process with pins will get brass as shiny as you can, aside from using new brass. Separating the media from the brass without a decent separator is a pain in the padded ass. I had some issues with cases necks getting dinged and needing to be ran back through the mandrel to getting proper seating tension. For pistol brass that is tarnished beyond what dry media will do, there is no better way. I would never do precision rifle again with it though.

Dry media can make a mess at times, but no drying of the brass is needed. It will get most brass nice and shiny, but if you are wanting primer pockets cleaned and in the inside of the cases spotless, you wont get that with dry media.

I recently started using a sonic cleaner and I think it's by far my favorite process. No media to separate and with a small bucket of clean water, you can rid the solution quick. Still requires drying though. I use my food dehydrator at 110 degrees for a few hours to keep water spots down. It will clean primer pockets and inside the case really well.