Where to go for prairie dogs?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Maverick1911

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am new to hunting....what can I say, I was born in New Jersey! I have been asking around on where I might be able to go find prairie dog hunting (preferably for free?) and have yet to receive any solid straight forward advice. So, the first question is where can I go for this? Second, what kind of gear do I need for such an outing (other than the rifle)? Lastly, is this something that is ok for my 6 year old to partake in? He has been begging to go but since I have no knowledge of this I wasn't sure. All advice welcome!

Oklahomabassin

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Its only allowed on private land. Some landowners allow it with permission, others charge a daily fee. Many places have cattle, machinery, buildings, and tank batteries on the same places. A small caliber rifle with extremely frangible bullets are necessary in most areas I have shot prarie dogs. The places I shot prairie dogs wasn't newbie friendly, as the dogs were spooky and shots were 250+ yards out. Often times we had to watch where cattle were, watch for passing vehicles in the distance as the land was pretty flat and you could easily see a mile.

Maverick1911

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Its only allowed on private land. Some landowners allow it with permission, others charge a daily fee. Many places have cattle, machinery, buildings, and tank batteries on the same places. A small caliber rifle with extremely frangible bullets are necessary in most areas I have shot prarie dogs. The places I shot prairie dogs wasn't newbie friendly, as the dogs were spooky and shots were 250+ yards out. Often times we had to watch where cattle were, watch for passing vehicles in the distance as the land was pretty flat and you could easily see a mile.

Ok....any places or guide hunts you old recommend?