Archery ?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gebrown

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Since I can't seem to find a place to shoot my weapons, I'm thinking about trying out archery, somehting I can do in the back yard, any advice for a total newb at this?
I don't want to drop a whole lot of money in it, just want to shoot something!

BIG_MIKE2005

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Look into a PSE set-up. They are pretty cost friendly & are a good product. I shoot a older PSE Deer Hunter I got for free. For it's age its a nice shooting bow. You can get the new PSE's in a RTS package which stand for "ready to shoot". I'd suggest goin to an archery shop or maybe even BassPro & getting your draw length figured out & see what draw weight your comfortable with. then pick you out a bow/target/arrows & go have some fun. Archery does take some time & technique to get good with so don't be discouraged if your shooting poor groups right outta the gate. Practice, practice & practice.

chuter

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I just got a PSE RTS package for the same reason. Got it at H&H; they helped me get it setup and sighted in on their range, really good service.

Droberts

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
shooting a plain cheapy recurve is fun, but for me the real joy is in finely tuning an adjustable rest & sight on a heavy compound bow to where you can fire very precise shots.

if you end up shooting as much as me(alot), keep a lot of D-Loop string handy to preserve your bowstring.

Dalejbrass

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Since I can't seem to find a place to shoot my weapons, I'm thinking about trying out archery, somehting I can do in the back yard, any advice for a total newb at this?
I don't want to drop a whole lot of money in it, just want to shoot something!