Buying a varmit rifle

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HoLeChit

Here for Frens
Special Hen
Reaction score
I'm wanting to pick up a new rifle, for going out and shooting some coyotes and prairie dogs. I'm thinking .223, and I'm wanting to keep my cost of the rifle under $600. It's a bit cheap, but I'm just wanting something reasonably accurate for about 200-250 yards, that I won't wanna cry when it gets scuffed up. I've been considering a cheap AR, but I'm really considering a mossberg MVP or a remington 700. Suggestions? Insights? I'm a bit new to varmits, my old lady's dad took me out after some coyotes and prairie dogs after we got done quail hunting this weekend, and I'm dying to go again already.

Owasso

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I use an M&P 15 sport with 1/9 twist and love it. I use the P223 scope from Nikon and the $10 JP trigger springs. Mine shoots 55gr ammo really well. I haven't really tried anything larger. I think a 223 bolt gun makes a great varmint rifle as well. Just a matter of preference. As far as the 223 goes it great out to 300 yds., it is cheap, easy to find, and low recoil. This makes it almost the perfect coyote round. Warning predator hunting is addictive. I love it almost as much deer hunting.

Good luck.

HoLeChit

Here for Frens
Special Hen
Reaction score
Thanks, I was looking at the m&p 15 sport, I can get one at a reasonably generous law enforcement discount due to my veteran status, and from my time in the marine corps I am very familiar with it. Accuracy wise, how does it hold up? Also, the lack of an ejection port cover worries me, due to foreign debris and such. The lack of a port cover is also speaking to me as well, due to how I hold the rifle my finger sometimes finds it's way to keeping it from opening all the way, thus causing jams.

Owasso

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score