Food Plot

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ProBusiness

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
OK. for you guys that have put in food plots, i have a question for you. My neighbor appears to have put in a food plot and i have no experience determine what it is. I am familiar with wheat. This patch was not drilled (probably broadcast spread) and it already up about 3" - 4".

Question: with the drought, can wheat already be up this tall? I am familiar with farmers planting wheat mid to late September but can you plant it earlier that this and have a chance for it to come it?

The plant looks like wheat: single blade, skinny, long straight blade same color as wheat.

Any ideas?

Also, do you plant a food plot of "wheat" for turkey?? My neighbor is more of a turkey hunter than a deer hunter so would this plot be for turkey?

Thanks for your help.

P.S. I hope it is not wheat as wheat will adversely flavor the meat of deer.

angsniper

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
OK. for you guys that have put in food plots, i have a question for you. My neighbor appears to have put in a food plot and i have no experience determine what it is. I am familiar with wheat. This patch was not drilled (probably broadcast spread) and it already up about 3" - 4".

Question: with the drought, can wheat already be up this tall? I am familiar with farmers planting wheat mid to late September but can you plant it earlier that this and have a chance for it to come it?

The plant looks like wheat: single blade, skinny, long straight blade same color as wheat.

Any ideas?

Also, do you plant a food plot of "wheat" for turkey?? My neighbor is more of a turkey hunter than a deer hunter so would this plot be for turkey?

Thanks for your help.

P.S. I hope it is not wheat as wheat will adversely flavor the meat of deer.

What??? Where did you get that?

ProBusiness

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score