Get an ACOG?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

promiseofwar

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I have an EOTech EXPS3-0 and I was thinking about getting a magnifier or getting an ACOG. I have looked through several ACOG's but not all the different models. What do you use/recommend for the ACOG reticle, magnification, and which color reticle? OR would you get a magnifier? I have never used a magnifier before. Thanks in advance.

Fyrtwuck

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
To me if you want a magnified optic, get a scope with variable magnification. It never made any sense to me to get a scope without magnification and then add a second mount with magnifier and add extra weight.

doctorjj

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
To me if you want a magnified optic, get a scope with variable magnification. It never made any sense to me to get a scope without magnification and then add a second mount with magnifier and add extra weight.

An Eotech HHS-II setup is 23.4 oz. A Leupold VX6 1-6x24 with a Larue LT104 is 21.6 oz. I'm sure that 1.8oz makes all the difference.

aestus

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Lately, for a fixed 4x power scope, I'm partial to the Elcan SpecterOS4x fixed scope. It's about $1100 and it's their newer 4x fixed power scope. I find the optics to be much clearer and brighter than ACOGs. It's almost night and day and I like the eye relief better. http://www.thefirearmblog.com/blog/2012/01/09/elcan-specteros4x-fixed-four-power-combat-gun-sight/

You can get these with the chevron reticle or the European ballistic cross style reticle.

With that said, 1-4x and 1-6x scopes offer a ton of versatility, especially if it's a 1 rifle do it all type setup.

Brandi

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score