Revolver Question. 442 vs 642

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

1911Nut

Marksman
Reaction score
Okay guys, I am new to the revolver world. What I am wondering is this. I have been looking at the S&W 442 & 642 online. The only thing different I can find is that one comes only in stainless and the other in flat black and blued. Is there any other difference besides that in the two guns?

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

druryj

In Remembrance / Dec 27 2021
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Nope, same gun, different finishes. Neither is stainless or blued; both are alloy-frames and the finish on both the 442 and 642 is a laquer-type job down at the factory.

1911Nut

Marksman
Reaction score
Thanks! I have been reading something about a "internal lock" or something, and that most people say to stay away from them... What are they, and what is the story about em?

alank2

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Hi,

Thanks! I have been reading something about a "internal lock" or something, and that most people say to stay away from them... What are they, and what is the story about em?