Tonights turkey hunt

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tacticalii

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
First off, this is my first year to really turkey hunt. I went a few times last year with no luck. I went out this evening with a new box call I know nothing about lol. I fiddled with the call for awhile when I heard the same noise I was making a hundred yards away or so. It took about 15 minutes to get the bird in range. Got the gun ready to go and................it was a hen. It putted around my decoys for a bit then wandered off. Went home empty handed but was pumped I actually called one in!

SoonerATC

Sharpshooter
Reaction score
First off, this is my first year to really turkey hunt. I went a few times last year with no luck. I went out this evening with a new box call I know nothing about lol. I fiddled with the call for awhile when I heard the same noise I was making a hundred yards away or so. It took about 15 minutes to get the bird in range. Got the gun ready to go and................it was a hen. It putted around my decoys for a bit then wandered off. Went home empty handed but was pumped I actually called one in!

Congrats dude. This is my first turkey season as well and so far I have yet to even see a turkey. I have a slate call, but I don't think it's loud enough to really call one in from a distance. I've been debating getting a box call as well, because I think those are louder? Hopefully someone can clear that up for me.

dennishoddy

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Trust me, you have the addiction now. :D