Building a new reloading set up- Suggestions anyone?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Stackle2

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I used to do a good bit of reloading, but I was into heavy magnum rifle loads. I just sold some extra gear online, so I have around $800 to play with. I am leaning towards the lee cast turret. I'll primarily be loading .45 acp, but will eventually pick up 40 s&w & 9mm as well.

I've been putting up WTB ads up but haven't gotten any bites. The local shops have nothing at all. So looks like I will be buying new. I don't need to load 1,000 rounds/hour, but single stage takes too much time & bench space. Oh, btw, I live in an apt now, so prefer to keep as small a footprint as possible.

Let me know what you use, or what you recommend. I appreciate the input!

GeneW

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
I'm no expert but I would go with a turret press. I just bought one on Ebay. It's a Lyman turret. If you are in OKC go to H&H, they have one on display. Amazon dot com has a reasonably good selection and really good prices. Or if you are up to a little drive and want to go to Cabelas just north of Fort Worth, that's a good place to go. What general area do you live in?

Stackle2

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I am by Lawton for now. Work there, & sometimes in OKC.

Really prefer to get a used set up, figure you can get the little extras for under retail, but I can't find anything right now. Even have been going to storage unit auctions, but have only found shot shell set ups.

jrguns

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score