Please school me, I'm still learning

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BIG_MIKE2005

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Ok, so I dont post much around here but do some reading when I make my way back over here. I was doin a little research into getting a pistol & had pretty much made my mind up on a Springfield XD40 w/5" barrel. Now even though that would be my choice I have to think about the wife. I'll be taking her to shoot pretty frequently & I'm thinking a 9mm would fit the bill a little better. Not only would ammo be cheaper but I'm gonna take a blind stab & say recoil will also not be what it would be from a 40. Which should make it easier to get her used to firing a gun since this would be her first.

Now on to picking a good reliable firearm. I'm totally lost. I like the Springfields but then I see the Smith & Wesson Sigma 9's at Academy for $320 before tax. I'd like to not spend a ton on a reliable 9mm. I know I used to assosiate Smith & Wesson for quality but I read reviews on here about the Sigmas & it kinda suprised me. So now I'm unsure about what brands make quality guns now days.

Someone please school me. Possibly point me in the right direction for the right gun for my needs.

NikatKimber

Sharpshooter
Staff Member
Special Hen Moderator
Reaction score
The Sigma (from what I've read, don't own one) is not a BAD gun, just not very refined.

You might be interested in looking at the new S&W SD9. It's supposed to be a revamped Sigma with better trigger and night sights. Not sure what prices are though.

ETA** Only the front is night sight. And $384 @ Budsgunshop

Rod Snell

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
Here's the deal from my experince; I use the SIgmas as trainers and loaners.

S&W has the Sigmas, SDs (improved Sigma, more money) and the M&P (different gun).
All are rock-solid dependable. the SIGMA and SD use the same magazines, M&P are different.