Why do we need new laws for open carry?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Slack

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
PART 1

I keep reading the the Oklahoma State statutes and keep coming to the same logical conclusion: Open carry is lawful in Oklahoma as long as your purpose is "legitimate" and you do not carry in places specifically prohibited.

I know there are some problems with this line of thought...

1. Logic does not drive the law
  2. I am not a lawyer
  3. I can't afford to "test" the laws

So according to 21 O.S. § 1272, you are not allowed to carry any weapon concealed or unconcealed anywhere except for the enumerated exceptions:

Title 21. Crimes and Punishments
Chapter 53 - Manufacture, Sale, and Wearing of Weapons
Section 1272 - Unlawful Carry

A. It shall be unlawful for any person to carry upon or about his or her person, or in a purse or other container belonging to the person, any pistol, revolver, shotgun or rifle whether loaded or unloaded or any dagger, bowie knife, dirk knife, switchblade knife, spring-type knife, sword cane, knife having a blade which opens automatically by hand pressure applied to a button, spring, or other device in the handle of the knife, blackjack, loaded cane, billy, hand chain, metal knuckles, or any other offensive weapon, whether such weapon be concealed or unconcealed, except this section shall not prohibit:

1. The proper use of guns and knives for hunting, fishing, educational or recreational purposes;

2. The carrying or use of weapons in a manner otherwise permitted by statute or authorized by the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act;

3. The carrying, possession and use of any weapon by a peace officer or other person authorized by law to carry a weapon in the performance of official duties and in compliance with the rules of the employing agency;