Quality Air Compressor

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonN06

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
My wife and I are working on hopefully getting out of an apartment and into a house hopefully around the start of the next year. I'm trying to decide what air compressor I should look into getting for the garage. My dad has an old Campbell Hausfeld that i'm pretty sure is older than I am and runs like a champ, but I didn't know what a good quality air compressor would be now.

I'm not a professional mechanic so I wouldn't be getting anything to crazy. Its main uses would probably be airing up tires, running the occasional 1/2" impact wrench to rotate my tires, and other occasional projects.

Are newer Campbell Hausfeld's still good quality, or are there other good quality air compressors that you can recommend.

I guess while we're at it can you suggest a good 1/2" impact wrench to go along?

Thanks in advance.

BReeves

Sharpshooter
Supporting Member
Special Hen Supporter
Reaction score
Not sure you can really buy a bad one these days, even the Harbor freight ones are fairly good. You get what you pay for so shop around. First thing is deciding just how big it needs to be. 20 some years ago I bought a 3 HP 30 gal from SAM's club and it has served me well doing exactly what you describe and then some. Reason I stopped at 3 hp was at the time I was renting and didn't have easy access to 220, 3 hp was the largest I could find that would run on 117 v. Sometimes I wish for a larger compressor but in reality I've only needed it to be larger twice in 20 years.

JonN06

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score
I don't think I would need more than 2 or 3 HP. If I did it would probably be a job that I would need to take to someone with more experience than myself.

Parks 788

Sharpshooter
Special Hen
Reaction score